Posted on

How big are we?

At two weeks old I had already traveled from my birthplace, New York City across the 48 states to Los Angeles California, at two years I traveled across the Atlantic Ocean to the unstable country of Hungary. It’s funny to think, with all the traveling I have done, I’ve still only seen a small percentage of the world. 

I may never make it to see the wonders of China and The Amazon Rain Forest, but 20 percent of the world’s population and half the earth’s animal and plant species live there! I’ve moved ten times around the world throughout my life but frankly, I don’t think I will ever lay eyes on the wonders of the North Pole or deep jungles of Central Africa.

Pondering over this gives me a sense that I’m not really that significant. As humans, and especially as Americans we have a inflated view of ourselves, demanding our rights and being shocked if we are ripped off. However, how important are we? 

We mourn for the loss of our Grandparents at the age of 80, but in third world countries your lucky if you live past infancy. We yearn for new gadgets, cars and houses, but really why are we focusing on material objects when there is a greater good to be done? Maybe if we all worked toward becoming significant, in some way, not like Gandhi or Martin Luther King Jr. But in the little ways.  Giving our old unwanted videos to the orphanage down the street, donating an hour of your week helping out at a homeless shelter or even paying for someones coffee in front of you at Starbucks are such small things that can change so much in this world, but then why aren’t we doing them?

One response to “How big are we?

  1. I’ll right away clutch your rss as I can’t
    find your email subscription hyperlink or newsletter service.
    Do you’ve any? Kindly let me recognize in order that I may subscribe.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

